DE
FR
IT
EN

«Modern outdoor advertising needs fresh ideas»

The ADC Young Creatives Award is considered Switzerland's most important competition for young creatives. APG|SGA is one of the long-standing sponsors of the «Outdoor» category. Peer Kleinfeldt, Key Account Manager at APG|SGA, has been part of the jury for seven years and helps decide on the awards in the «Outdoor» category. In this interview, he talks about courageous young talents, creative competition entries, and fresh ideas that strike at the heart.

This is now the 15th time that ADC is holding its competition for up-and-coming creatives. What do you think is special about it?

«Promoting new talents is a high priority. It takes courage and self-confidence to perform in the advertising industry. With the competition, ADC promotes young creatives who are at the beginning of their careers. With this platform, they should be able to freely pursue their passion and show competence. At the same time, agencies and clients get the chance to discover new talents.»

 

What changes do you notice over the years?

«The concept of the competition is that the briefings change from year to year, and so do the communication problems. However, the participating competition partners all have one thing in common: they are seriously interested in catching up with young perspectives. Almost every company sets itself the advertising task of reaching Generation Z and expects unconventional ideas from the competition.»

 

How popular is the «Outdoor» category amongst young people?

«The poster offers «digital natives» something special and lasting. Creating an analog campaign requires graphic craftsmanship and knowledge. For young creatives, this is a welcomed challenge. That may also explain the high turnout. Outdoor has actually been the category with the most submissions for years. I'm personally thrilled about that, since I'm privileged to represent this category in the jury.»

 

What do you think young creatives do differently?

«Young creatives deal differently with real briefings than experienced professionals. That's why I'm thrilled by the competition every year. Young people are bursting with resolute courage and often find new ways to solve advertising tasks. The majority of the works are evidence of an intensive examination of the task at hand. And in 2022, I saw many campaigns that surprised me with their scalability and scope.»

 

This is the seventh time that you're a jury member. How come?

[Laughs:] «Well, that's clear: The awards ceremony is a big bash, and the atmosphere is buzzing! In 2022, after a two-year break, it was back at Zürich's hip club Zukunft. APG|SGA has been a sponsor of the ADC Young Creative Awards for many years. Due to my role as Key Account Manager at APG|SGA and my proximity to creative agencies and decision-makers, I was proposed as a jury member at the time. Now I am involved in the competition process on behalf of APG|SGA with great enthusiasm.»

 

How strict can you be as a juror?

«Ideas hit the heart or not. My rigor starts with the question of feasibility. I am demanding when it comes to creative elaboration, suitability and efficiency, because that is the reality in the advertising industry. And in the end, the competition is also about reflecting it.»

 

Do you judge the works more from the point of view of the passer-by or the expert?

«The first look is always intuitive. Of course, I can jump back and forth between the roles. But at the end of the day, what counts in all perspectives is the quality and consistency of the idea with which the poster was developed. In the end, the advertising message has to be more convincing than pure emotion.»

 

So, the decision is easy for you?

«With such an abundance of submissions and in view of the technical differences between the works, it is quite easy for me to make a shortlist. What remains is a concentrate that comes into question for first place. Here, final decisions are never easy.»

 

What can agencies do to keep the courage of young creatives alive as they step into the job and face real clients?

«They can enable the courage to challenge the status quo and display the intransigence to develop a truly creative and innovative campaign.»

 

More information

adc.ch

Medal table and shortlist

Winning works and award ceremony of the YCA 2022

APG|SGA's commitment to creatives

DE
FR
IT
EN

«Zeitgemässe Aussenwerbung braucht frische Ideen»

Der ADC Young Creatives Award gilt schweizweit als bedeutendster Wettbewerb für junge Kreative. Die APG|SGA zählt zu den langjährigen Sponsoren der Kategorie «Outdoor». Peer Kleinfeldt, Key Account Manager bei APG|SGA, ist seit sieben Jahren Teil der Jury und entscheidet mit über die Auszeichnungen in der Kategorie «Outdoor». Er berichtet im Interview von mutigen Nachwuchstalenten, kreativen Wettbewerbsarbeiten und frischen Ideen, die ins Herz treffen.

Bereits zum 15. Mal ruft der ADC seinen Wettbewerb für Nachwuchskreative aus. Was ist aus Ihrer Sicht das Besondere daran?

«Nachwuchsförderung hat einen hohen Stellenwert. Es braucht Überwindung und Selbstbewusstsein, um in der Werbebranche zu performen. Mit dem Wettbewerb fördert der ADC junge Kreative, die am Anfang ihrer Laufbahn stehen. Sie sollen mit dieser Plattform frei ihrer Leidenschaft nachgehen und Kompetenz zeigen können. Gleichzeitig erhalten Agenturen und Auftraggeber die Chance, neue Talente zu entdecken.»

 

Welche Veränderungen stellen Sie über die Jahre fest?

«Das Wettbewerbskonzept sieht vor, dass von Jahr zu Jahr die Briefings und somit auch die Kommunikationsprobleme wechseln. Eines haben die teilnehmenden Wettbewerbspartner jedoch allesamt gemeinsam: Sie sind ernsthaft interessiert, junge Perspektiven einzuholen. Fast jedes Unternehmen stellt die werberische Aufgabe, die Generation Z zu erreichen und verspricht sich vom Wettbewerb unkonventionelle Ideen.»

 

Wie beliebt ist denn die Kategorie «Outdoor» bei den Jungen?

«Das Plakat bietet den «Digital Natives» etwas Besonderes und Bleibendes. Die Kreation einer analogen Kampagne erfordert grafisches Handwerk und Wissen. Für junge Kreative ist das eine willkommene Herausforderung. Das erklärt vielleicht auch die hohe Beteiligung. Outdoor ist tatsächlich seit Jahren die Kategorie mit den meisten Einreichungen. Das freut mich persönlich diebisch, da ich diese Kategorie in der Jury vertreten darf.»

 

Was machen denn junge Kreative Ihrer Meinung nach anders?

«Junge Kreative setzen im Umgang mit realen Briefings anders an als routinierte Berufsleute. Mich begeistert der Wettbewerb gerade deshalb jedes Jahr aufs Neue. Der Nachwuchs strotzt nur so vor resolutem Mut, findet dadurch oft neue Wege, um die werberischen Aufgaben zu lösen. Die Arbeiten zeugen mehrheitlich von einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit der gestellten Aufgabe. Und 2022 sah ich viele Kampagnen, die darüber hinaus mit Skalierbarkeit und Trageweite überraschten.»

 

Sie sitzen bereits zum siebten Mal in der Jury. Wie kommt das?

[Lacht:] «Na, das ist doch klar: Die Preisverleihung ist eine grosse Sause und es herrscht Stimmung! 2022 war sie nach zwei Jahren Pause wieder zurück im angesagten Zürcher Club Zukunft. Die APG|SGA ist seit vielen Jahren Sponsorin des ADC Young Creative Awards. Aufgrund meiner Rolle als Key Account Manager bei der APG|SGA sowie der Nähe zu Kreativagenturen und Entscheidern wurde ich seinerzeit als Jurymitglied vorgeschlagen. Nun bin ich stellvertretend für die APG|SGA mit grosser Begeisterung im Wettbewerbsverfahren involviert.»

 

Wie streng dürfen Sie als Juror denn sein?

«Ideen treffen ins Herz oder nicht. Meine Strenge setzt bei der Frage der Umsetzbarkeit ein. Bei der kreativen Ausarbeitung, Tauglichkeit und Effizienz bin ich anspruchsvoll, denn das ist die Realität in der Werbebranche. Und im Wettbewerb geht es letztlich auch darum, diese abzubilden.»

 

Beurteilen Sie die Arbeiten eher aus Sicht des Passanten oder des Experten?

«Der erste Blick ist immer intuitiv. Natürlich kann ich zwischen den Rollen hin- und herspringen. Aber unter dem Strich zählen bei allen Blickwinkeln die Qualität und die Konsequenz der Idee, mit der das Plakat erarbeitet wurde. Am Ende muss die Werbebotschaft mehr überzeugen als das reine Gefühl.»

 

Das heisst, die Entscheidung fällt Ihnen leicht?

«Bei einer derartigen Fülle von Einreichungen und angesichts der fachlichen Unterschiede der Arbeiten fällt mir die Vorauswahl relativ leicht. Übrig bleibt ein Konzentrat, welches für den ersten Platz in Frage kommt. Hier sind finale Entscheidungen nie einfach.»

 

Was können Agenturen tun, um den Mut der jungen Kreativen lebendig zu halten, wenn sie in den Job einsteigen und mit echten Kunden konfrontiert sind?

«Sie können den Mut ermöglichen, um den Status quo herauszufordern und die Unnachgiebigkeit an den Tag legen, eine wirklich kreative und innovative Kampagne zu entwickeln.»

 

Mehr Informationen

adc.ch

Medaillenspiegel und Shortlist

Gewinnerarbeiten und Preisverleihung des YCA 2022

Engagement der APG|SGA für Kreative