Content: PPI Index 2000-2013

Posters have a lasting impact

 

 

Titelbild.JPG

 

Contents


Management Summary

Recall, brand recognition, appeal

In the period from 2000 to 2013, a total of 962 poster campaigns were assessed with Poster Performance Index PPI as regards their advertising impact. The results confirm the remarkable quantitative performance of posters according to SPR+ Swiss Poster Research Plus. On average, across all campaigns, posters scored 45% for recall, 62% for brand recognition, and 64% for appeal. In line with various other studies, the PPI figures show that high advertising pressure – measured in GRP as a combination of reach and opportunities to see – generates a high qualitative impact. Recall, brand awareness, and popularity of poster advertising call for good, efficient, eye-catching visual designs. The examples from the PPI best-performers list clearly document this thesis.



 


Inhaltsverzeichnis


Real-world monitoring and benchmarking tool

Fundamentals

 

Scope and objective of study
The Poster Performance Index PPI measures the advertising effectiveness of poster campaigns according to three criteria:
-    Recall (aided)
-    Brand recognition
-    Campaign appeal


The PPI is a service tool for APG|SGA customers. For the advertiser, it is a convenient monitoring and benchmarking instrument that in addition to the customary calculation of reach, opportunities to see (OTS), advertising pressure (GRP) and cost per 1000 OTS (CPM) 1 as quantitative metrics also allows a rating of the qualitative effectiveness of poster-based communication. The PPI study relies on recurring surveys whose results are systematically integrated in a database differentiated by industry. The constantly growing breadth of the database enables advertisers to continually enhance the efficiency of their poster communication.

Encouraging results
On average across all 962 campaigns tested to date and across all target groups, recall ratings are 45%, brand recognition 62%, and appeal 64%. Differentiated by age bracket, the youngest segment performs significantly best with 52% recall. This means: On average among the youngest interviewees aged 15 to 29, posters generate the highest recall ratings.

1 For APG|SGA, the specific SPR+ poster contact rating is the decisive factor in pricing roadside and railway station panels. More information on SPR+ Swiss Poster Research Plus: www.spr-plus.ch
 

Grafik1_EN.JPG

 

Methodology

Current test setup
–    Interview regions: Conurbations Basel, Bern, Geneva, Lausanne, and Zürich
–    Random sample: 500 persons, 100 each per interview conurbation
–    Age: 15–59 years
–    Interviewees: mobile, residents of interview regions
–    Procedure: personal online interviews immediately after the end of the poster campaign. Duration: max. 15 minutes. Provider: Innofact AG (Zürich)

Questions/topics
–    How many persons can remember a poster campaign?1
–    Can they associate it with a brand?2
–    How high is the acceptance level?
–    Are there sociodemographic differences between target groups?
–    How do the results compare with the competitive environment?

Data repository
The APG|SGA PPI database is updated regularly and already contains over 1000 campaign records and solid benchmarks for campaign comparisons in all market segments.



1 Aided recall
3 Brand sender anonymized in the visual

 

Grafik2_EN.JPG


Top<

 
 

Contents


Key elements: Visual design and advertising pressure

Factors that influence advertising impact

Advertising pressure
Increasing advertising pressure has a measurable influence on advertising impact. As shown in the graphic at the bottom, average recall continuously rises with increasing GRP and at over 5000 GRP attains the highest value of 51%. On average across all measured poster campaigns, no clear patterns can be discerned with respect to brand recognition. Primarily, the design of the visual is what influences whether or not a person can associate the correct brand with a remembered campaign. The graphic at the bottom right illustrates the causal relationships.

Visual design
Good posters rely on the principles of human perception. They are simple and focused, distill the image and text messages to a few memorable elements that even the casual observer can recognize as relevant and commit to memory. The responsibility for the artwork lies with the advertiser or with the mandated advertising agency. Various pretest methods available through market research institutes make it possible to gain important insights as regards perception and acceptance of an advertising message in the early planning stages of a campaign.

 

1 Gross rating points GRP as the unit for advertising pressure are obtained by multiplying reach with contacts per person; the number corresponds to the total number of contacts per 100 persons in the target area (reached or not reached).

 

 Garfik3_EN.JPG  

Interaction of visual design and advertising pressure
Impact (I) = Message (M) + Transport (T)

A confrontation with a poster establishes the direct contact between its featured message and the audience which includes the target group. A message will be correctly delivered if it is not only correctly transported but also correctly perceived. For this reason, the optimized cooperation between the customer (sender of the message) and APG|SGA as the provider (transporter of the message) is crucial. As is the case for every advertising measure, the impact of a poster campaign also depends on numerous other factors. They include exogenous influences such as the state of the economy, climate/weather, exchange rates, and competitive activities as well as endogenous factors involving marketing measures such as pricing.
 

 
   
 Grafik4_EN_neu.JPG  

 


Top<


 
 

 

 

Contents


From the PPI best performers list

Examples

Posters are always successful
Differentiated by industry, the PPI averages measured for poster campaigns often vary considerably. This is due to the different degrees of complexity of the advertised products and services. With a clever strategy and artwork focused on the essence, however, it is possible to achieve outstanding results with poster advertising in every industry. The recall ratings of the visuals presented here support this claim. They are the currently valid peak values achieved in the course of the years in 12 different industries.

 

Best of recall ratings:
 

 Services: 79%, BEA horse (17/2002)   Alcoholic beverages: 62%, Heineken (41/2002)
0195_BeaPferd-01-F200D.jpg     0239_Heineken-01-F200DF.jpg
 Finance: 87%, Post youth account (17/2003)    Food: 88%, Nestlé Frisco ice cream (29/2003)
0274Postkonto-01-F200D.jpg   0286Nestlé-Frisco-01-F200DF.jpg
 Vehicles: 60%, Opel Meriva (15/2003)    
0268_OpelMeriva-01-F12D.jpg
 Initiatives/campaigns: 85%, BAG alcohol prevention (07/2004)  
0314_BAG-01-F12D.jpg
 Media: 75%, APG|SGA Ali Kebap (34/2009)    Industry/retail: 84%, Migros MegaWIN (43/2012)
0700_APG-Ali-01-F200D.jpg   0949_MigrosMegaWIN-01-F200D.jpg
 Garment/lingerie: 86%, Sloggi (37/2003)    Non-alcoholic beverages: 80%, Rivella (26/2004)
0288_Sloggi-01-F200DF.jpg   0352_Rivella-02-F200D.jpg
 Health/personal care: 84%, Fielmann AG (43/2004)  
Fielmann-2004.jpg
 IT/office: 81%, Sunrise Nokia visual (04/2012)  
0873_SunriseNokia-02-F200.jpg

 


 Mirco_Marrone_e.JPG
 

Top<

Content: PPI Index 2000-2013

Plakate wirken nachhaltig

Titelbild.JPG
 

Inhaltsverzeichnis


Management Summary

Erinnerung, Markenzuordnung, Gefallen

In den Jahren 2000–2013 wurden im Rahmen des Poster Performance Index PPI insgesamt 962 Plakatkampagnen auf ihre Werbewirkung untersucht. Die Ergebnisse bestätigen die hohen quantitativen Leistungswerte des Plakats nach SPR+ Swiss Poster Research Plus. Im Durchschnitt aller Kampagnen liegen die Werte für die Erinnerung bei 45%, für die Markenzuordnung bei 62% und für das Gefallen bei 64%. Analog zu verschiedenen anderen Studien belegen die Zahlen des PPI, dass hoher Werbedruck – gemessen in GRP als Verknüpfung von Reichweite und Kontaktchancen – mit hoher qualitativer Wirkung einhergeht. Erinnerung, Markenbekanntheit und Beliebtheit von Plakatwerbung setzen gute, effiziente, plakative Sujetgestaltung voraus. Die Beispiele aus der PPI Bestenliste dokumentieren dies sehr anschaulich.



 


Inhaltsverzeichnis


Kontroll- und Benchmarking-Tool für die Praxis

Grundlagen

 

Gegenstand und Ziel der Studie
Der Poster Performance Index PPI misst die Werbewirksamkeit von Plakataushängen nach den Kriterien:
-    Erinnerung/Wiedererkennung
-    Markenzuordnung
-    Gefallen der Kampagne

Der PPI ist ein Service-Tool für die Kunden der APG|SGA. Mit ihm erhält der Plakat-Auftraggeber ein praktisches Kontroll- und Benchmarking-Instrument, welches ihm zusätzlich zur gewohnten Berechnung der quantitativen Leistungswerte Reichweite, Kontaktchancen OTS, Werbedruck GRP und Tausend-Kontakte-Preis TKP1 die Möglichkeit gibt, auch die qualitative Wirksamkeit seiner Plakatkommunikation zu überprüfen. Der PPI Studie liegen wiederkehrende Befragungswellen zugrunde, deren Ergebnisse in einer Datenbank – nach Branchen differenziert – systematisch erfasst werden. Die immer breiter werdende Datenbasis dient dem Auftraggeber dazu, die Effizienz seiner Plakateinsätze kontinuierlich weiter steigern zu können.

Erfreuliche Ergebnisse
Im Durchschnitt aller bis heute getesteten 962 Kampagnen und über alle Zielgruppen hinweg liegen die Werte für die Erinnerung bei 45%, für die Markenzuordnung bei 62% und für das Gefallen bei 64%. Differenziert nach Alter weist das jüngste Segment mit 52% Erinnerung den signifikant höchsten Wert auf. Das heisst: Plakatierung erzielt im Durchschnitt bei den jüngsten Befragten zwischen 15 und 29 Jahren die höchsten Erinnerungswerte.

Grafik1.JPGGrafik 1

 

 

Grafik2.JPGGrafik 2


Top<

 
 
 
 
 

 


Inhaltsverzeichnis


Zentrale Elemente: Sujetgestaltung und Werbedruck

Einflussfaktoren der Werbewirkung

Werbedruck
Steigender Werbedruck übt einen messbaren Einfluss auf die Werbewirkung aus. Wie die Grafik unten zeigt, erhöhen sich die durchschnittlichen Erinnerungswerte bei steigenden GRP  kontinuierlich und erreichen bei über 5 000 GRP mit 51% den höchsten Wert. Bezüglich Markenzuordnung manifestieren sich – im Durchschnitt der gemessenen Plakatkampagnen – keine klaren Muster. Ob eine Person einer erinnerten Kampagne die richtige Marke zuordnen kann, hängt denn auch primär von der Sujetgestaltung ab. Den inneren Zusammenhang illustriert die Grafik unten rechts.

Sujetgestaltung
Gute Plakate orientieren sich an den Gesetzmässigkeiten der menschlichen Wahrnehmung. Sie sind einfach und fokussiert – verdichten Bild- und Text-Botschaften auf wenige, merkfähige Zeichen, die auch der flüchtige Betrachter als relevant erkennen und speichern kann. Für das dahinterstehende Artwork ist der Werbeauftraggeber bzw. dessen damit beauftragte Werbeagentur verantwortlich. Mit verschiedenen Pretest-Verfahren, wie sie von Marktforschungsinstituten angeboten werden, besteht die Möglichkeit, bereits in der Planungsphase einer Kampagne wichtige Erkenntnisse hinsichtlich Wahrnehmung und Akzeptanz einer Werbebotschaft zu gewinnen.

 

 

 Garfik3.JPGGrafik 3  

Zusammenspiel von Sujetgestaltung und Werbedruck
Impact (I) = Message (M) + Transport (T)

In der Begegnung mit dem Plakat stellt die im Plakatsujet umgesetzte Botschaft den direkten Kontakt zum Publikum und somit zur avisierten Zielgruppe her. Eine Botschaft kommt dann korrekt an, wenn sie einerseits richtig transportiert und andererseits richtig wahrgenommen wird. Wichtig ist deshalb die optimale Zusammenarbeit des Kunden (Absender der Botschaft) mit dem Werbeanbieter APG|SGA («Transporteur»). Wie jede Werbemassnahme, hängt die Wirkung einer Plakatkampagne zudem von zahlreichen weiteren Faktoren ab. Dazu gehören exogene Einfüsse wie Konjunkturlage, Klima/Wetter, Wechselkurse, Konkurrenzaktivitäten ebenso wie endogene Faktoren in Form eigener Marketingmassnahmen, z.B. Preisgestaltung.
 

 
   
 Grafik4_neu.JPGGrafik 4  

 


Top<


 
 

Inhaltsverzeichnis


Aus der PPI Bestenliste

Beispiele

Plakate sind immer erfolgreich
Differenziert nach Branchen, variieren die für Plakatkampagnen gemessenen PPI Durchschnittswerte zum Teil beträchtlich. Dies hängt mit dem unterschiedlichen Komplexitätsgrad der zu bewerbenden Produkte und Dienstleistungen zusammen. Mit kluger Strategie und adäquatem, auf das Wesentliche konzentrierten Artwork gelingt es jedoch in allen Branchen, mit Plakatwerbung Spitzenergebnisse zu erzielen. Dies führen die Erinnerungswerte der hier abgebildeten Sujets vor Augen. Es handelt sich um die aktuell gültigen Höchstwerte, welche in 12 verschiedenen Branchen im Lauf der Jahre erzielt wurden.

 

Bestmarken
Erinnerungswerte:

 

 Dienstleistungen: 79%, BEA Pferd (17/2002)

 

 Alkoholische Getränke: 62%, Heineken (41/2002)

0195_BeaPferd-01-F200D.jpg

   

0239_Heineken-01-F200DF.jpg

 Finanzen: 87%, Post Jugendkonto (17/2003)

 

 Nahrungsmittel: 88%, Nestlé Frisco Glacé (29/2003)

0274Postkonto-01-F200D.jpg

 

0286Nestlé-Frisco-01-F200DF.jpg

 Fahrzeuge: 60%, Opel Meriva (15/2003)

 

 

0268_OpelMeriva-01-F12D.jpg

 Initiativen/Kampagnen: 85%, BAG Alkoholprävention (07/2004)  

0314_BAG-01-F12D.jpg

 Medien: 75%, APG|SGA Ali Kebap (34/2009)

 

 Industrie/Handel: 84%, Migros MegaWIN (43/2012)

0700_APG-Ali-01-F200D.jpg

 

0949_MigrosMegaWIN-01-F200D.jpg

 Bekleidung/Wäsche: 86%, Sloggi (37/2003)

 

 Alkoholfreie Getränke: 80%, Rivella (26/2004)

0288_Sloggi-01-F200DF.jpg

 

0352_Rivella-02-F200D.jpg

 Gesundheit/Persönlicher Bedarf: 84%, Fielmann AG (43/2004)  

Fielmann-2004.jpg

 EDV/Büro: 81%, Sunrise Nokia Sujet (04/2012)

 

 

0873_SunriseNokia-02-F200.jpg

 


 Mirco_Marrone_d.JPG

 

 


Top<