DE
FR
IT
EN

APG|SGA programmatic advertising: zero in on target groups.

APG|SGA already has more than 500 large-format digital screens (eBoard and ePanel) in prime locations available for programmatic booking. This means the time and place of your digital campaigns can be calibrated even more precisely to reach your target group. How does it work? We combine the performance data for our advertising panels from SPR+ with continuously updated socio-demographic data to reach target groups. You make the greatest impact on the people you’re trying to reach, exactly when they’re out and about. The technical benefits of programmatic digital out of home campaigns are huge, with the potential for more than a billion impressions* per month.

 

* 1 impression = 1 weighted contact as defined by SPR+

 

The compelling benefits of programmatic DOOH

Communicating the right content at the right time increases the impact of advertising even further. Digital out of home provides a noticeable boost to the relevance of smart campaigns. Here you can find all the advantages of DOOH (digital out of home) at a glance.

 

None
None

Starbucks' eye-catching programmatic DOOH campaign

Iced Coffee, a Starbucks Refresha® drink, a Frappuccino® blended beverage, or would you prefer Hot Coffee? Starbucks has taken advantage of what programmatic DOOH has to offer. In the German and French speaking parts of Switzerland, a digital outdoor advertising campaign within a 500-meter radius of the Starbucks Coffee Houses encouraged passersby to enjoy a refreshing drink or a warm coffee – depending on the weather. While the cold beverages were advertised in weather conditions of 13°C and above, additional advertising exposure took place when the sun was shining and temperatures were 25°C and above. Below 12°C, the Hot Coffee was used. Starbucks took advantage of the use of different time slots for the beverage types for an even more targeted broadcast.

 

«Thanks to the programmatic approach, we reach our target group at the right time and in the right place with the relevant product. This increases the effectiveness and efficiency of the campaign.»

Kerstin Goutier-Sauer, Marketing Manager, Starbucks Coffee Switzerland GmbH

None
None
None
None

Michael Pevec heads the Programmatic & Automation division at APG|SGA. He is responsible for the strategy, concept and roll-out of new platforms, and develops solutions for sales of programmatic digital APG|SGA products. In this interview he explains why APG|SGA is so focused on programmatic and what he has planned for 2021.


Programmatic is a hot topic in the out of home market. It’s a term that, until now, was primarily used in online marketing. Can you explain how programmatic functions in the public arena and what advantages it offers?
Michael Pevec: ‘Programmatic advertising in out of home media essentially means the fully automated sale of digital advertising space on dedicated trading platforms. In our case, that’s a supply-side platform (SSP), or sales platform, called VIOOH, and various demand-side platforms (DSPs), or purchasing platforms. It is really only when an SSP and a DSP processes the transaction that it becomes what we call “programmatic”.Fully automated trading makes digital campaign planning even faster and more efficient. We are now in a position to programmatically offer one hour as the minimum bookable unit. That’s something you can’t do with traditional methods. The granularity (breakdown) of campaign management means we can respond to factors that have an influence on campaigns, such as the weather or people’s mobility behaviour, and target the campaign even more accurately.’


What is the wider ecosystem here?
‘APG|SGA is a partner of the supply side platform (SSP) VIOOH. This SSP, specifically developed for out of home media, offers a wide international range. It is linked to all the relevant demand side platforms (DSPs). This precision ecosystem means we can offer our advertisers efficient and data-driven international management of their campaigns.’

 

Having fully embraced this new area, what does APG|SGA hope to gain from it?
‘APG|SGA has made a huge investment in screens in recent years and is the Swiss leader for DOOH. As such, we see ourselves as the drivers of this pioneering digital development. Our entry into programmatic out of home advertising followed on from a clear strategic decision. We are currently in the midst of the implementation phase in programmatic advertising, having laid the foundation in 2019. Last summer, we rolled out the first national programmatic campaigns. There have been many more programmatic implementations since then. We are working on the assumption that 2021 will bring further significant growth here.’ 


The promise to advertisers is that they can direct digital campaigns at individual target groups with greater precision. What is the basis for that?
‘Location precision has always been one of the advantages of out of home advertising. With programmatic campaigns, advertisers and agencies can direct their messages using additional targeting opportunities. The key to this is precise data. The advantage we have is that our industry already has enormous amounts of data. We collect it at our own advertising panel sites, as well as from mobile target groups, who leave digital tracks in public spaces with their smartphones.’

Can you explain in broad terms how that works?
‘Our partner intervista collects data exclusively for APG|SGA from individual target groups using geofencing and beacons. That applies in particular to SBB railway stations, City ePanels and Zurich Airport. Using this research data, we can say with a high degree of probability which target group can be found in those places within defined timeframes over the course of the day.’


What about data protection?
‘Participants in the intervista panel are actively recruited and have given their consent for their data to be used for research purposes. The anonymity of participants is guaranteed at all times and it’s all done within the bounds of Swiss data protection legislation.’

Hand on heart – how relevant is the transmission? We are talking about a public space where you find many different types of people.
‘If you use it smartly, this new technology can achieve a very high relevance of transmission. Hard digital performance data from SPR+ is an additional foundation for using programmatic advertising on the basis of impressions. But of course we don’t and never will want to transmit to individuals – but by all means to defined target groups, who are known to move in front of a screen in disproportionate numbers at certain times.’


People often get confused between smart campaigns and programmatic. Can you explain the difference?
‘That’s a good question, and not that easy to answer. Unlike “programmatic”, “smart campaign” isn’t a defined term, so it can be interpreted and applied in different ways. The key characteristic is that a smart campaign works without SSPs or DSPs. Take weather-targeting – you can do it smartly by delivering different motifs for a weather-related campaign to match various forms of weather, and with flexible booking on a daily basis.’

APG|SGA has announced that it will continuously expand the number of its programmatically bookable screens. How is this working out?
‘We are on schedule. The goal for Q1 2020 was to achieve national coverage of 500 full HD screens and more than 770 million impressions per month. And we’ve done that. Now, our branding zones in the major Swiss railway stations can be programmatically booked as well.’

Will ePanels and eBoards only be available programmatically in the future?
‘No. Not at all. Our digital products are still a high-reach medium, one that can achieve great reach extension within a very short period. With the public’s media consumption becoming more fragmented all the time, I am sure that rapid reach extension within a target group will become even more important in the future. With programmatic, we are effectively offering our customers an additional tool for their setting that can take on special functions within a campaign.’
 

None

Left: Michael Pevec, Head of Programmatic & Automation, right: Sükrü Gökdemir, Junior Programmatic Campaign Manager

Partners

None

APG|SGA is a proud partner of the supply-side platform (SSP) VIOOH . All the relevant demand side platforms (DSPs) worldwide are linked to this SSP, which was developed especially for out of home media. It has never been easier to carry out an international DOOH campaign.

Already connected DSPs

None

No DSP access? No problem!

If you as a customer do not have access to a DSP, APG|SGA will handle it for you. Take advantage of our unique programmatic full service: We will gladly take care of consulting, planning, implementation, analysis and optimization of your programmatic campaigns.

None

Offer

None

National coverage, which currently encompasses 500 screens with more than a billion impressions*/month.

None

Make the most of our unique target group data.

None

Our high quality standards ensure that our screens are at least 55 inches in size, with full HD resolution. 

None

Effective immediately, innovative advertising spaces like our popular branding zones in the major Swiss railway stations can be booked programmatically. We are constantly expanding our range.

DE
FR
IT
EN

La publicité programmatique d’APG|SGA : encore plus proche des groupes cibles.

Chez APG|SGA, plus de 500 grands écrans numériques (eBoard et ePanel) peuvent déjà être réservés dans les meilleurs endroits par programmatique. Cela signifie que votre campagne numérique peut bénéficier d’une orientation spatio-temporelle encore plus précise vers votre groupe-cible. Voici comment cela fonctionne : nous combinons les données de performance de nos supports publicitaires issus de SPR+ avec des données sociodémographiques collectées en continu pour des messages ciblés. Vous touchez ainsi vos personnes cibles à l’heure près, là où cela fonctionne efficacement. Les avantages techniques d’une campagne numérique Out of Home programmatique sont considérables et vous permettent d’atteindre plus d'un milliard d’impressions* par mois.

* 1 impression = 1 contact pondéré selon  SPR+

 

Les avantages convaincants du DOOH programmatique

Communiquer le bon contenu au bon moment augmente encore plus l’impact publicitaire. Le Digital Out of Home augmente considérablement la pertinence des contenus de campagnes intelligents. Vous trouverez ici tous les avantages du DOOH (Digital Out of Home) en un coup d’œil.

 

None
None

La remarquable campagne programmatique DOOH de Starbucks

Iced Coffee, un Starbucks Refresha® drink, un Frappuccino® blended beverage ou plutôt un Hot Coffee? Starbucks a profité des avantages de la programmatique DOOH. En Suisse alémanique et en Suisse romande, une campagne d'affichage numérique, diffusée dans un rayon de 500 mètres autour des cafés Starbucks, a encouragé les passantes et passants à prendre une boisson rafraîchissante ou un café chaud – selon la météo. Alors que les boissons froides faisaient l'objet d'une publicité lorsque les conditions météorologiques étaient de 13°C et plus, une publicité supplémentaire a été diffusée lorsque le soleil brillait et que les températures étaient de 25°C et plus. En dessous de 12°C, c'est le café chaud qui a été diffusé. Starbucks a utilisé des créneaux horaires différents selon les types de boissons, afin d'obtenir une diffusion encore plus ciblée.

 

«Grâce à l'approche programmatique, nous atteignons notre groupe cible au bon moment et au bon endroit avec le produit pertinent. Cela augmente l'efficacité et l'efficience de la campagne.»

Kerstin Goutier-Sauer, Marketing Manager, Starbucks Coffee Switzerland GmbH

None
None
None
None

Michael Pevec est responsable du département Programmatic & Automation chez APG|SGA. Il assure la stratégie, la conception et le lancement de nouvelles plateformes et développe des solutions pour la vente des produits numériques programmatiques d’APG|SGA. Il nous explique pourquoi APG|SGA mise sur la « programmatique » et quels projets sont prévus pour 2021


La programmatique est l’une des préoccupations majeures du marché Out of Home. Jusqu’à maintenant, ce terme était surtout connu dans le cadre du marketing en ligne. Pouvez-vous nous expliquer comment fonctionne la programmatique dans les lieux publics et quels en sont les avantages?
Michael Pevec : « Pour résumer, le terme de « Programmatic Advertising in Out of Home Media » désigne la commercialisation automatisée d’espaces publicitaires numériques à l’aide de plateformes commerciales dédiées. Dans notre cas, il s’agit d’une Supply Side Platform (SSP), ou plateforme de vente, du nom de VIOOH, à laquelle s’ajoutent différentes Demand Side Platforms (DSP), ou plateformes d’achat. On ne peut véritablement parler de publicité « programmatique » qu’à partir du moment où le commerce est géré par une SSP et une DSP.Grâce à l’automatisation de la commercialisation, la planification des campagnes numériques gagne en rapidité et en efficacité. Nous sommes désormais en mesure de proposer l’heure comme plus petite unité de réservation possible en version programmatique. Cela n’est pas possible avec les canaux traditionnels. La nouvelle granularité (structuration) de la gestion des campagnes nous permet de réagir à certains facteurs ayant une influence sur les nouvelles campagnes, comme la météo ou les comportements de mobilité des personnes, et ainsi de proposer des campagnes encore plus précises. »

A quoi ressemble votre écosystème élargi?
« APG|SGA a conclu un partenariat avec la Supply Side Platform (SSP) VIOOH. Cette SSP développée spécialement pour les médias Out of Home propose une offre internationale. Toutes les Demand Side Platforms (DSP) pertinentes sont connectées à celle-ci. Cet écosystème nous permet de proposer à nos annonceurs une gestion de leur campagne encore plus efficace et basée sur les données, y compris au niveau international. »
 

APG|SGA est totalement entrée dans ce secteur depuis peu. Quelles sont vos attentes?
« Ces dernières années, APG|SGA a massivement investi dans les écrans et est devenue le leader suisse en matière de DOOH. Nous nous considérons comme un moteur de cette transformation numérique d’avenir. Notre entrée dans la publicité extérieure programmatique a donc été une décision stratégique claire et fondamentale. Avec la publicité programmatique, nous nous trouvons désormais en plein dans la phase de mise en œuvre. Nous avons jeté les fondations en 2019 et avons pu déployer la première campagne programmatique nationale cet été. Désormais, les projets de mise en œuvre programmatique se sont accumulés. Nous pensons que ce domaine devrait continuer à progresser fortement en 2021.»


La promesse faite aux annonceurs est que ces campagnes numériques pourront leur permettre de gérer ces campagnes de manière plus précise et selon les différents groupes cibles. Sur quelle base?
« La précision de la localisation reste un avantage en matière de publicité extérieure. Avec les campagnes programmatiques, les annonceurs et les agences peuvent orienter leurs messages en fonction d’autres facteurs de ciblage. La clé pour y parvenir, ce sont des données précises. Ce qui nous avantage est le fait que notre secteur dispose déjà de beaucoup de données. Nous les collectons sur les sites de nos supports publicitaires et nous avons des groupes cibles très mobiles qui laissent des traces numériques dans l’espace public avec leurs smartphones. »


Pouvez-vous nous expliquer comment cela fonctionne en pratique?
« Avec intervista, nous avons à nos côtés un partenaire qui collecte les données de différents groupes cibles en exclusivité pour APG|SGA à l’aide de géofences et de balises. Notamment pour les gares CFF, les City ePanels et l’aéroport de Zurich. A l’aide de ces données de recherche, nous pouvons affirmer avec un grand degré de probabilité quels groupes cibles se déplaceront au fil d’une journée à certains créneaux horaires définis. »


Qu’en est-il de la protection des données?
« Les participants au panel d’intervista ont été activement recrutés et ont consenti à l’utilisation des données à des fins de recherche. L’anonymat de tous les participants est garanti à tout moment et la législation suisse en matière de protection des données est respectée. »

En toute honnêteté : qu’en est-il de la pertinence de la diffusion ? Après tout, les lieux publics restent des endroits où de nombreuses personnes différentes se déplacent.
«Utilisées intelligemment, ces nouvelles technologies peuvent nettement renforcer la pertinence de la diffusion. Les solides valeurs de performance numériques de SPR+ constituent une base supplémentaire pour pouvoir utiliser également la Programmatic Advertising sur la base d’impressions. Il est clair que nous ne voulons ni ne mettrons jamais en place une diffusion pour une seule personne. Par contre, nous pouvons très bien le faire pour le groupe cible qui se déplace manifestement en grande majorité devant un écran à un moment donné. »


On confond souvent Smart Campaign et programmatique. Expliquez-nous quelle est la différence.
« C’est une bonne question à laquelle il n’est pas facile de répondre. Comme Smart Campaign n’est pas un terme défini, contrairement à la programmatique, cette expression s’interprète et s’utilise de différentes manières. La principale différence est cependant que la Smart Campaign fonctionne sans SSP ni DSP. Le ciblage météorologique peut par exemple également être réalisé dans le cadre d’une Smart Campaign en affichant différents sujets publicitaires en fonction de la situation météorologique et en gérant la diffusion de manière flexible au jour le jour. »


APG|SGA a annoncé son intention d’accroître le nombre d’écrans qui pourront être réservés par vente programmatique. Où en est-on à l’heure actuelle ?
« Nous sommes dans les temps. L’objectif était d’atteindre une couverture nationale avec 500 écrans Full-HD et plus de 770 millions d’impressions par mois pour le premier trimestre 2020. Nous y sommes parvenus. Désormais, nos zones de branding dans les grandes gares de Suisse peuvent également être réservées par programmatique. »


A l’avenir, se pourrait-il que les ePanels et eBoards puissent être réservés uniquement par programmatique ?
«Non. En aucun cas. Nos produits numériques sont et restent un média à la portée exceptionnelle, avec une forte progression de la pénétration en très peu de temps. Puisque les comportements d’utilisation des médias restent très fragmentés, je suis certain que la pénétration plus rapide au sein d’un groupe cible deviendra même de plus en plus importante à l’avenir. Avec la programmatique, nous offrons à nos clients ce qui pourrait presque être considéré comme un outil supplémentaire au sein de leur Setting, qui peut remplir des missions particulières dans le cadre d’une campagne. »
 

None

A gauche sur la photo : Michael Pevec, directeur du département Programmatic & Automation, à droite : Sükrü Gökdemir, Junior Programmatic Campaign Manager

Partenaires

None

APG|SGA est fière de son partenariat avec Supply Side Platform (SSP) VIOOH . Toutes les Demand Side Plaforms (DSP) pertinentes sont connectées à la SSP développée spécialement pour les médias Out of Home, et ce, dans le monde entier. Une campagne DOOH internationale n’a jamais été aussi facile à mette en œuvre.

DSP déjà connectés

None

Pas d'accès à la DSP ? Pas de problème !

Si, en tant que client, vous n'avez pas accès à la DSP, APG|SGA s'en chargera pour vous. Profitez de notre service programmatique unique et complet : Nous nous chargeons volontiers du conseil, de la planification, de la réalisation, du contrôle qualité et de l'optimisation de vos campagnes programmatiques.

None

Offre

None

Actuellement, couverture nationale de plus de 500 écrans avec plus d'un milliard d’impressions par mois.

None

Profitez de nos données uniques sur les groupes cibles.

None

Grâce à nos standards de qualité élevés, tous nos écrans ont une taille minimale de 55 pouces et possèdent une résolution Full HD. 

None

Dès maintenant, les espaces publicitaires innovants, tels que nos zones de branding appréciées dans les grandes gares de Suisse, peuvent également être réservés par programmatique. Notre offre est en constante évolution.