Content: Echinaforce® Poster Campaign

Out of Home Targeting generates sales

 
Echinaforce_Start.jpg

 


Contents


Management Summary

Echinaforce® Poster Campaign

Out of Home Targeting allows the accurate placement of messages along major distribution channels. With a prominent poster campaign for its Echinaforce® product as well as a systematic approach in site selection and target group communication, Bioforce AG achieved excellent sales pressure and advertising impact. Sales advanced by 48% in the campaign period during the influenza season, and market share picked up significantly as well. The measured Poster Performance Index (PPI) ratings were also higher than the average in its market segment: 47% for recall, 59% for appeal, and 53% for brand recognition.



 

 
 
 

 

Contents

 

Systematic selection in the vicinity of points of sale

Strategy and Planning

 

Situation
When noses start running in the winter and the influenza season begins, it's a good time to advertise a herbal formulation that preventively strengthens the immune system and reduces the likelihood of viral infections. Headquartered in Roggwil in the canton of Thurgau, Bioforce AG planned a poster campaign for the 2012/2013 winter season with the intention of boosting the brand recognition of its flagship Echinaforce® product.

Direct communication with the target group
At Bioforce, the campaign preparations began early: The company contacted APG|SGA in May 2012. Together with “the Generation Media” agency, Bioforce envisaged a poster campaign that would reach the target groups in the direct vicinity of the sales channels, in this case pharmacies and drug stores, right on time for the 2012/2013 flu season. “the Generation Media” CEO Petra Kreussler puts it in a nutshell: “We soon realized that this assignment could only be fulfilled with a highly differentiated selection of panels. This called for close collaboration with APG|SGA.” And APG|SGA sales consultant Reto Moschen remembers: “The deliberate selection of billposting sites in the vicinity of Echinaforce® points of sale developed together with the client was a very constructive and systematic process thanks to our central database.”

The approach
«Out of Home Targeting»
Out of Home Targeting communicates with the core target group of the advertised product using a specially configured poster planning matrix. This amplifies the penetration of a conventional poster campaign by deliberate and intelligent placement at locations in the communication channel, which means in the immediate vicinity of  the customer. This direct target group approach guarantees the visibility of the campaign.



Implementation
The result was a comprehensive poster campaign composed of panels near pharmacies and drug stores.
Two goals were accomplished simultaneously: on the one hand, potential buyers were made aware of the flu-prevention effect of Echinaforce® and on the other, the posters near the points of sale encouraged consumers to purchase Echinaforce®.
APG|SGA handled this assignment with a radius selection of available panels in the vicinity of sites extracted from a meter-accuracy list of all pharmacies and drug stores in the designated target areas.
In the end, a campaign with over 700 individually selected poster sites was rolled out: in the German- and French-speaking parts of Switzerland, distributed across all major conurbations.

 

With this visual (F200 and F12 posters), Bioforce AG vied for attention – and got it.



 

Top<

 
 
 
 
 

 


Contents


750 panels with F12 and F200 formats

Media
 

Echinaforce® campaign profile

  •    F12 and F200 format mix
  •    1 visual
  •    Preferred sites in the direct vicinity of pharmacies and drug stores
  •    Conurbations and other regions in German- and French-speaking Switzerland
  •    Out of Home Targeting to intensify communication with consumers and retailers
  •    Billposting volume:
       750 panels
       640 posters (wide format)
       110 posters (portrait format)
  •    Gross spend in February and March 2013 including confirmed follow-up period(s):
       CHF 630,000

 

   
The concentrated placement of Echinaforce® posters near pharmacies and drug stores in German- and French-speaking Switzerland sensitized the target groups on the spot and encouraged consumers to buy Echinaforce® at the nearby point of sale. (Photo source: Google)

 
 
   
   

Example: sites selected in the center of Zürich. (Photo source: Google)

Top<


 
 

 

 

Contents


Significant sales and market share gains

Results

Impressive research results
The impact of the Echinaforce® campaign was examined by APG|SGA in a Poster Performance Index study. The evaluation of the results showed that about half of all respondents (47 percent) could spontaneously remember the Echinaforce® posters.
Of those respondents, more than half (53 percent) correctly recognized the brand and 59 percent spontaneously rated the poster as being very good or quite good. From the very start, the Echinaforce® campaign thus achieved impact ratings that tendentially outperformed the average PPI benchmark for poster campaigns in the “Health/Personal Care” segment (see chart below)
 

Statistik_en.jpgStatistik

 

Sales success for Echinaforce®
According to Bioforce statistics, sales of Echinaforce® at the beginning of 2013 are significantly higher than in the prior year (+48 percent). Sales figures are also clearly higher versus competitive immunostimulus products against influenza and common colds.


Significant increase of market share
The success of the Echinaforce® poster campaign also influenced the market share trend. In the overall Swiss market for immunostimulants (self-medication) against colds, Echinaforce® had a market share of approx. 44 percent, significantly higher than in prior years. By comparison: The market share was 41.5% in 2011 and 40.9% in 2012.

Statistik2_en.jpg

Statement_en.jpgStatement EN

Booklet Echinaforce (1.9 MB)

Top<

Content: Plakatkampagne Echinaforce®

Mit Out of Home Targeting zum Absatzerfolg

 
Echinaforce_Start.jpg
 

Inhaltsverzeichnis


Management Summary

Plakatkampagne Echinaforce®

Out of Home Targeting ermöglicht die punktgenaue Platzierung von Botschaften entlang von wichtigen Distributionskanälen. Bioforce AG hat mit einer prägnanten Plakatkampagne für das Produkt Echinaforce® und dank gezielter Standortwahl und Zielgruppenansprache eine herausragende Absatz- und Werbewirkung erreicht. Die Umsätze legten während der Erkältungssaison im Kampagnenzeitraum um 48% zu, und auch der Marktanteil steigerte sich signifikant. Die im Rahmen des Poster Performance Index (PPI) erhobenen Werte zur Erinnerung (47%), zum Gefallen (59%) sowie zur Markenzuordnung (53%) fallen ebenfalls überdurchschnittlich aus.




 
 
 

 


Inhaltsverzeichnis


Gezielte Auswahl im Umkreis von Verkaufspunkten

Strategie und Planung


Ausgangslage
Wenn im Winter die Nase läuft und die Grippesaison beginnt, ist der Zeitpunkt gekommen, mit einem pflanzlichen Arzneimittel das Immunsystem präventiv zu stärken und grippalen Infekten Abhilfe zu schaffen. Die Firma Bioforce AG aus Roggwil im Thurgau plante für den Winter 2012/13 deshalb eine Plakat-kampagne, um die Markenbekanntheit ihres Präventionsmittels Echinaforce® zu erhöhen.

Direkte Zielgruppen-Ansprache
Schon frühzeitig ging Bioforce die Kampagnen-Planung an: Bereits im Mai 2012 kontaktierte das Unternehmen die APG|SGA. Zusammen mit der Mediaagentur «the Generation Media» wurde eine Plakatkampagne disponiert, welche die Zielgruppen im direkten Umfeld der Verkaufskanäle, also rund um Apotheken und Drogerien erreichen sollte – und dies rechtzeitig zur Grippewelle 2012/2013. Petra Kreussler von «the Generation Media» bringt es auf den Punkt: «Es wurde bald klar, dass dieser Auftrag nur mit Hilfe ganz gezielter Flächenselektion gelöst werden konnte. Dazu war die enge Zusammenarbeit mit APG|SGA unabdingbar.» Und APG|SGA-Verkaufsberater Reto Moschen erinnert sich: «Die gemeinsam mit dem Kunden erarbeitete, bewusste Auswahl von Plakatstellen im Umkreis der Verkaufspunkte von Echinaforce® gestaltete sich mit Hilfe unserer zentralen Datenbank sehr konstruktiv und zielführend.»

Lösungsansatz
«Out of Home Targeting»
Und APG|SGA-Verkaufsberater Reto Moschen erinnert sich: «Die gemeinsam mit dem Kunden erarbeitete, bewusste Auswahl von Plakatstellen im Umkreis der Verkaufspunkte von Echinaforce® gestaltete sich mit Hilfe unserer zentralen Datenbank sehr konstruktiv und zielführend.» den Kommunikationskanälen, das heisst im direkten Umkreis des Kunden, verstärkt. Diese direkte Ansprache der Zielgruppe garantiert die Sichtbarkeit der Kampagne.

Umsetzung
So entstand eine umfangreiche Plakatkampagne, bestehend aus Flächen im näheren Umfeld von Apotheken und Drogerien.
Auf diese Weise wurden zwei Ziele gleichzeitig erreicht: einerseits wurde die potenzielle Kundschaft direkt auf die Grippe-Prävention durch Echinaforce® angesprochen und anderseits animierten die Plakate in der Nähe der Verkaufspunkte zum Kauf von Echinaforce®.
APG|SGA realisierte diesen Auftrag mittels Umkreis-Selektion von verfügbaren Plakatflächen rund um metergenau definierte Standorte aus einer Liste mit sämtlichen Apotheken und Drogerien in den beworbenen Zielgebieten.
Am Ende wurde eine Kampagne mit über 700 einzeln ausgewählten Plakatstandorten ausgerollt: In der Deutschschweiz sowie der Westschweiz – verteilt auf alle wichtigen Agglomerationen.

F12_200.pngF200 F12

Mit diesem Sujet (F200- und F12-Plakate) warb Bioforce AG um die Aufmerksamkeit – und erhielt sie auch.




Top<

 
 
 
 
 

 


Inhaltsverzeichnis


750 Plakatflächen in den Formaten F12 sowie F200

Media

Steckbrief Echinaforce-Kampagne

  •    F12- und F200-Formatmix
  •    1 Sujet
  •    Wunschflächen im direkten Umfeld von Apotheken und Drogerien
  •    Agglomerationen und übrige Regionen der Deutschschweiz und der Romandie
  •    Out of Home Targeting zur verstärkten Ansprache von Konsumenten und Fachhandel
  •    Aushangvolumen:
       750 Flächen
       640 Exemplare F12 (Breitformat)
       110 Exemplare F200 (Hochformat)
  •    Brutto-Aushangwert Februar und März 2013 (inklusive ausgewiesene  Folgeperiode/n):
       Fr. 630 000.–

 Grafik_1.jpg  
Die verdichtete Platzierung der Echinaforce®-Plakate im Umkreis von Apotheken und Drogerien in der deutschen und französischen Schweiz sensibilisierte die Zielgruppen direkt vor Ort und animierte zum Kauf von Echinaforce® im nahegelegenen Verkaufspunkt. (Bildquelle: Google)


 
   
 Grafik_2.jpg  

Beispiel: selektierte Plakatstellen im Zentrum der Stadt Zürich. (Bildquelle: Google)


Top<



 

 

 

Inhaltsverzeichnis


Signifikante Absatz- und Marktanteilsgewinne

Resultate

Überzeugende Forschungsresultate
Die Echinaforce®-Kampagne wurde in der Studie PPI Poster Performance Index von APG|SGA auf ihre Wirkung hin untersucht. Die Auswertung der Resultate ergab, dass sich rund die Hälfte der Befragten spontan an Echinaforce®-Plakate erinnerten (47 Prozent). Davon ordneten mehr als die Hälfte (53 Prozent) die Marke richtig zu, und 59 Prozent gefiel das Plakat sehr gut oder ziemlich gut. Die Echinaforce®- Kampagne erreichte somit auf Anhieb Wirkungswerte, die tendenziell über dem Durchschnitt der PPI-Benchmarks für Plakatkampagnen aus dem Bereich «Gesundheit/Persönlicher Bedarf» liegen (siehe Grafik unten).

Statistik.jpgStatistik

Absatz-Erfolg für Echinaforce®
Gemäss Bioforce-Verkaufsstatistiken liegt der Umsatz von Echinaforce® zum Jahresbeginn 2013 signifikant über den Vorjahres-Werten, das heisst plus 48 Prozent. Auch heben sich die Absatzzahlen klar von Konkurrenz-Produkten zur Immunstimulanz gegen Grippe und Erkältung ab.


Signifikante Steigerung des Marktanteils
Schliesslich schlug sich der Erfolg der Echinaforce®-Plakatkampagne auch in der Entwicklung des Marktanteils nieder. Gemessen am CH-Gesamtmarkt für Immunstimulanzien gegen Erkältungskrankheiten (Selbstmedikation) liegt Echinaforce® mit rund 44 Prozent signifikant über den Vorjahreswerten. Zum Vergleich: Der Wert im Jahr 2011 lag bei 41.5% und im Jahre 2012 bei 40.9%.

Statistik2.jpgStatistik 2

Statement_de.jpgStatement DE

Broschüre Echinaforce (1,9 MB)


Top<